Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
House of Delegates
Share |
The House of Delegates is the legislative body of the Association.  It shall transact the business of the Association not otherwise specifically provided for in this Constitution and By-Laws, and shall elect the General Officers.  The House of Delegates shall receive and act upon the various reports of the Board of Trustees, Councils, Committees, and Officials of the Association together with their recommendations. The House of Delegates shall have the power to rescind any action or policy of the Board of Trustees, provided two-thirds of the membership of the House of Delegates, present and voting, votes to rescind.

The House of Delegates shall be composed of the Delegates representing; the State societies;  Howard University College of Medicine, Morehouse School of Medicine, Charles R. Drew University Medicine and Science, and Meharry Medical College, the Scientific Assembly; Independent Medical Societies; Post Graduate Physicians, and Students.  Each of these delegates shall have the right to vote.

The Trustees, the former Presidents of the Association, the former Speakers of the House and the Editor of the Journal of the National Medical Association shall be ex-officio members of the House of Delegates, without the right to vote, unless they are elected or appointed.

The number of Delegates seated from the Sate shall be proportional to the number of Active Members in their respective, societies, as provided in the By-laws. Other Delegates shall be seated as determined in the By-laws.

National Medical Association | 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 820, Silver Spring, MD 20910 | 202-347-1895